PDA

View Full Version : RO/DI question



sshockey
04-14-2009, 09:07 AM
I purchased a used Kent RO/DI unit rated at 100 gpd. I purchased a TDS meter to test the system. The RO water currently read at .35 and my normal tap water is at 1.70. so it appears to be working. I just thought I was supposed to have it at 0. Any ideas? the guy that sold me the unit said the filters were only a couple of months old.

30mini
04-14-2009, 10:53 AM
I would replace the filters... just because they are only a couple of months old doesn't mean that they aren't spent already. Your readings seem off by 10... it would make sense that your getting a .35 reading coming out of the DI, but a 1.70 reading out of the tap seems off to me. Maybe something like 170 is better.

sshockey
04-14-2009, 12:39 PM
I would replace the filters... just because they are only a couple of months old doesn't mean that they aren't spent already. Your readings seem off by 10... it would make sense that your getting a .35 reading coming out of the DI, but a 1.70 reading out of the tap seems off to me. Maybe something like 170 is better.


it is 35 ppm and 170 ppm for tap water. sorry about that. Since it is used I have no idea where to get replacement filters etc. Any ideas?

30mini
04-14-2009, 02:53 PM
Our sponsor Air, Water, and Ice will gladly help you out!

Russ
04-17-2009, 06:11 AM
Scott - your system takes standard 10" x 2.5" prefilters and DI cartridge, and a standard ("1812) membrane.

Your DI water should be at 0, and your RO water should be something like 5% of your tapwater.

Russ