PDA

View Full Version : Crocea Clam



gthorpe2
05-28-2008, 10:38 PM
Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I was looking at getting a Crocea Clam and I was wondering if it would survive under 4x54 watt T-5's?

Bwlr
05-30-2008, 07:47 PM
Probably not.
Those are the more light demanding type.

http://www.reefcorner.com/clams.htm

jjoos99
05-30-2008, 11:02 PM
Is there an easy way to tell between a crocea and a maxima? Mine is a bright blue but I am not sure which one it is?
Jeff

World of Pets (Josh)
06-02-2008, 07:28 AM
Found on the link above.

http://www.reefcorner.com/images/MaximaShellBottom.jpg MAxima

http://www.reefcorner.com/images/CroceaShellBottom.jpg

Coral Pets
06-03-2008, 10:36 AM
What size tank is it going in? If it is a 55g. Just put it near the top of the tank. One of mine is about 12" deep in the water. It hasn't moved since I put it there. The other one kept moving down in the tank to the sand. Seems to prefer high water flow over high light.

gthorpe2
06-03-2008, 10:46 AM
It's going in my 75 g

Charlie
06-07-2008, 10:41 AM
It really depends on a few things. The size of the clam. The type of T-5 fixture you have. What type of bulbs you are running (par rating).

gberry
06-10-2008, 03:03 PM
I have a 4" Brown Maxima clam that refuses to live in anything other than the substrate (standard 55G AGA tank) under 4x 54W T-5s. Put it up near the surface on the rockwork and it jumps within an hour or so. I've been told that the mantle color also plays into the lighting requirement for clams, blues and purples require more lighting than golds and browns do.