PDA

View Full Version : Propogating Shrooms

L8-NiTe
10-16-2007, 09:41 AM
Hi yesterday i went to monforts and got a couple single shrooms.
They were pretty good size at about 3 inches when open.I brung them home and got a cup of tank water ready and a plastic cutting board.I opened a brand new razor and placed the shroom on the cutting board.
I then put the tip of the razor into the mouth part of the shroom cutting from the inside to the outside edge.I did this untill i had 4 pie shaped pieces.I placed them into the cup of tank water for the time being while i took a 2 liter bottle and cut it into a 4" thick ring.I then placed it into the sandbed and filled it with rubble rock.I then placed the 4 pieces of shroom into the rubble rock and put a piece of mesh over the ring and affixed it with a rubberband.

Is this the right thing i did here?
2 of the shroom pieces feel down
between the rubble,will they be ok?
This is my first time propogating anything
and i just hope i did it all right and come out
victorious.I asked the fellow at monforts if i
should do a iodine dip for them before placing in
the tank but he said it would not benefit them like
it would if you dipped a stony coral,but make sure
theres iodine in the tank itself.Any insight would
be great.

Thanks,
Mike

lwalcott
10-16-2007, 09:49 AM
Sounds good to me. You should have 4 new shrooms in about 2 weeks or less. Keep us informed on your progress.

Coral Pets
10-16-2007, 10:35 AM
For shrooms, I just let them reproduce themselves. They "spit" out little shrooms near themselves to cover more and more area. Generally lower light and flow, and they do pretty well. Feed them too.

L8-NiTe
10-16-2007, 11:41 AM
I use phytoplex,dt;s oyster eggs and marine snow.
are these acceptable foods for the shrooms?

30mini
10-16-2007, 11:42 AM
Those are great food for the shrooms... just make sure not to overfeed!!!

L8-NiTe
10-16-2007, 03:23 PM