PDA

View Full Version : 125 Gallon filter question

cjalb72
07-17-2007, 07:46 PM
I just got a great deal on a 125 gallon aquarium that is not drilled. I know Im new to this whole thing and have had a lot of questions about my 20 gallon that I just set up!!!!! My question now is, Without drilling the tank, what is the best way to filter the water?

Chris

Coral Menagerie
07-17-2007, 07:48 PM
there are many types of filters. to get water out of a non drilled tank there are overflow boxes that are used.

frankie

cjalb72
07-17-2007, 07:57 PM
I have heard that overflow boxes can be a pain

30mini
07-17-2007, 09:21 PM
Yes, they can be a pain, that's why I would drill it! It'll save you a LOT of time and hassle to just get it drilled and build a calfo style overflow!

cjalb72
07-17-2007, 09:29 PM
where do i get it done and what do u recomend I use for an overflow?

lwalcott
07-17-2007, 11:43 PM
I used an overflow box for around 10 years with no problems. Drilled is the best but I wouldn't worry if you had to use a non drilled tank with an overflow box. They are easy to setup and use.

30mini
07-18-2007, 07:51 AM
I could drill it for you, as I have experience drilling several tanks. Also, I'm sure that there are a few others on here that would be more than happy to do it, or guide you through it!

wood
07-18-2007, 04:49 PM
Don't drill it. You are then compromising the tank. What kind of livestock do you plan to keep? Fish only... get the big fluval, or an ehim self contained wet dry. theres no over flow boxes w/ that and it works great I have two of them. or if your doing corals, hang on back refugium w/ a smaller fluval or ehim. Or theres always two emperer 400's. hang on the back. I highly suggest not drilling. Not worth the risk. to me anyways.

30mini
07-18-2007, 04:58 PM
Don't drill it. You are then compromising the tank.