PDA

View Full Version : lighting question

bman2221
01-17-2006, 04:35 PM
I want to start putting SPS in my tank now that I have eveything under control and looking good for more than a year. My question is about what kind of light to use in the tank (55 gal). On RC someone told me that T5's would be enough but the popular choice seems to be MH. Will 4x130 VHO be enough? I am just looking at things that may be cheaper than MH. And with me being a college student I don't think I will upgrade tanks anytime soon unless it is a 75 gal. Any information or opinions would be appreciated as my post on RC only got one reply, the one on T5's.
Thanks
Brian

Nanoreefer
01-18-2006, 11:41 AM
For a 55 gallon you can get 175 watt retro MH kits for $150 each. You would need two systems for a 55 gallon tank. You can also get 250 watt retro's for $160 on the net and would need 2 of these. The 250 watt systems would give you enough light for most 4 foot tanks. Check out Ocean Encounters for their systems. I have one and they get very good reviews. The ballast has some of the best PAR numbers on Sanjay's website.

rklutts
01-18-2006, 01:36 PM
I would go with 1 or 2 175w MH 14k's, that way you get a bluer look with out having to add any VHO, PC or T5's for actinics to keep your costs down.

As for the T5's, you can run them only and the sps will do fine and you will have a slimmer hood design since they can be closer to the water than MH's. I have seen some really nice SPS tanks that are running T5's. But if cost is an issue I would go with the MH's since you can get the equipment used off RC for alot less. I bought my dual 175 set-up off RC for $125 shipped.

bman2221
01-18-2006, 02:02 PM
Thanks a lot for the ideas, just a question about the retros. Are they difficult to put in a hood or is it fairly easy? and do they come with the reflector and everything I would need? I am kind of clueless when it comes to lights.

rklutts
01-18-2006, 02:30 PM